T-Max footswitch

This forum is for discussions on all kinds of Peavey bass amplifiers.
gastric
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:42 pm

T-Max footswitch

Postby gastric » Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:46 pm

I have a Peavey T-Max rack mount bass amp and need a compatible footswitch. Unfortunately the manual provides no information such as a part number, not that I'd likely find whatever that was since the amp is so old. However, based on the manual I'm assuming it's some fairly standard 3-button latching footswitch with a MIDI DIN style male plug on the end. Can anyone confirm or provide some sort of current product that is compatible?

Or provide a schematic so I can buy a generic footswitch, re-wire it, and etch labels?

User avatar
Enzo
Member
Posts: 6331
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:24 pm
Location: Lansing, Michigan

Re: T-Max footswitch

Postby Enzo » Mon Jun 08, 2009 6:25 pm

The footswitch connector wiring is on the amp schematic, which you can get from PV parts department or customer service department.

You can ask the parts people if they have the footswitch. They probably don;t but are usually willing to make one up for you - ask for a quote.

donhank
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 5:57 pm
Location: Telecom Corridor

Re: T-Max footswitch

Postby donhank » Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:23 pm

I'm glad that Enzo could reply - he is very knowledgable and I hope that he has been able to help you. But if not, please post back. I've been playing a T-Max for almost ten years now and I have an actual Peavey factory-built footswitch. As you guessed, it is DIN-7 with three switches (channel switch, graphic in/out, and effects loop in/out) though mine has three LEDs to indicate my selections.

Regards

Don
Don Hankinson

T-Max bass head
Pro 500 bass head
Sessionbass bass head
Pro 410 (four ohm) bass cab
Pro 210 bass cabs (x2)
Max bass preamp
Impulse 1012 full-range PA cabs
CS500A power amp
Unity Koa 4 string bass

gastric
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:42 pm

Re: T-Max footswitch

Postby gastric » Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:30 pm

Thanks for the replies. Can you specify what the channel select does? Just switches between tube and solid state? But no combine?

donhank
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 5:57 pm
Location: Telecom Corridor

Re: T-Max footswitch

Postby donhank » Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:51 pm

You are correct - tube OR solid state preamp and disabled in the combined mode.
Don Hankinson

T-Max bass head
Pro 500 bass head
Sessionbass bass head
Pro 410 (four ohm) bass cab
Pro 210 bass cabs (x2)
Max bass preamp
Impulse 1012 full-range PA cabs
CS500A power amp
Unity Koa 4 string bass

gastric
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:42 pm

Re: T-Max footswitch

Postby gastric » Tue Jun 23, 2009 7:24 pm

I thought I'd share the schematics I finally received from Peavey support. I was hoping to find an existing footswitch but I've yet to find one that has 3 buttons and a 7-pin DIN male connector. Nobody uses that type of connector anymore. Peavey wanted $70 or so to build one, which is simply too expensive.

So I plan to construct me own, which should be fairly easy. My current plan is to construct a 2 button footswitch for Channel/EQ and skip the Effect button as I'd personally never use it, and I can make the pedal slightly smaller since it'll only need 2 buttons instead of 3.

The best part is you can use standard MIDI 5 pin DIN cables and connectors if you only want a 2 button footswitch like I do.

Shopping list:

* Small aluminum chassis
* Metal paint
* (2) latching foot switches
* (2) LEDs
* (2) LED bezels
* Female 5 pin MIDI DIN panel-style connector
* Then just connect any standard MIDI cable between the foot switch and amp. 20' MIDI cables are readily available for $10 or less.

If you wanted a full 3 button footswitch you'd simply need another latching switch, another LED assembly, and buy some 7 conductor wire, and a 7 pin DIN male connector which is available on eBay for $4.50 shipped (cheapest place I could find it). http://www.smallbearelec.com/home.html has the rest of the hardware, but not the MIDI nor 7 conductor wire. You could probably use Cat5 cable for the wire assuming the current travelling the wire isn't that great and won't cause it it to get too hot or something.

I'll post my completed project and parts list when it gets completed as I'm sure eventually some other person in the world will encounter the same situation.

I'm getting ready to try some DIY stomp boxes so this will be a perfect first project to cut my teeth on chassis wise.
Attachments
T-Max foot switch.pdf
Peavey T-Max 3-button Footswitch Schematic
(31.92 KiB) Downloaded 495 times

gastric
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:42 pm

Re: T-Max footswitch

Postby gastric » Wed Jun 24, 2009 8:45 am

More info: A genuine Peavey footswitch that works for the Classic-400 or MAX preamp would also work with the T-MAX amp.

djangobeck
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:03 am

Re: T-Max footswitch

Postby djangobeck » Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:35 am

Having come across this posting whilst looking for info on a T-Max footswitch, I was delighted to find a diagram on this site. Regrettably wiring up a three button switch as per the drawing failed to either change the channel or switch in and out the effects loops. So having obtained an amp schematic from Peavey I worked out what the wiring needed to be. I obtained a footswitch for £18.60 from http://www.dolphinmusic.co.uk/product/4 ... itch-.html apparently this can also be used with a TransTube Special 212, Revolution 112, Special 212 II, Revolution 112 II and XXL.

I rewired it as per attached schematic and it all works a treat.

Some useful tips.

The switching is done on the negative side of the relay. The change-over occurs when you ground the neutral side of the relay.

Wire colors are not important - they are just the ones in the switch that I used.

Pin numbers are not like a clock face ie. 1- 7. but as per the DIN wiring standard.

Ground is No. 2. Pins 1,4 and 6 carry 15v and play no part in switching but can be used to illuminate the LED's in the off position and in any order so the pin out numbers are not crucial..

Pins 7, 3 and 5 by being switched to ground operate the Effects Loop in and out (Pin 7), Graphic in and out (Pin 3) and Channel Change (Pin 5).

I hope that this will prove useful for anyone else looking to solve this problem or indeed other Peavey footswitch related problems
T-MAX Footswitch Wiring Diagram 24 -11-11.pdf
(62.27 KiB) Downloaded 302 times

steg
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:44 am

Re: T-Max footswitch

Postby steg » Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:15 am

Hello!
sorry for my english, I'm Italian.
what foot switches should I buy to assemble the pedal? (I can not find online latching foot switches).
thank you

User avatar
Enzo
Member
Posts: 6331
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:24 pm
Location: Lansing, Michigan

Re: T-Max footswitch

Postby Enzo » Tue Aug 12, 2014 2:25 pm

When we say "latching" all we mean is that the switches are "click on and click off" types. Step on it one and it turns on and stays on, step on it again and it turns back off. Just like the switches in a Fender amplifier.

There are two types of push switch, latching and momentary. LAtching switches stay in whatever position you leave them, while momentary switches are only on while you hold them down.


I don't know how your local suppliers name them, but I hope that explanation is clear for you.

steg
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:44 am

Re: T-Max footswitch

Postby steg » Sun Aug 17, 2014 3:36 pm

OK. How many volts going to the LEDs? What resistors can I use? Thank you!

steg
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:44 am

Re: T-Max footswitch

Postby steg » Tue Aug 26, 2014 2:31 pm



Return to “Bass Amplifiers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest