It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 9:11 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: T-Max footswitch
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:46 pm 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 5
I have a Peavey T-Max rack mount bass amp and need a compatible footswitch. Unfortunately the manual provides no information such as a part number, not that I'd likely find whatever that was since the amp is so old. However, based on the manual I'm assuming it's some fairly standard 3-button latching footswitch with a MIDI DIN style male plug on the end. Can anyone confirm or provide some sort of current product that is compatible?

Or provide a schematic so I can buy a generic footswitch, re-wire it, and etch labels?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T-Max footswitch
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 6:25 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:24 pm
Posts: 6300
Location: Lansing, Michigan
The footswitch connector wiring is on the amp schematic, which you can get from PV parts department or customer service department.

You can ask the parts people if they have the footswitch. They probably don;t but are usually willing to make one up for you - ask for a quote.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T-Max footswitch
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:23 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 5:57 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Telecom Corridor
I'm glad that Enzo could reply - he is very knowledgable and I hope that he has been able to help you. But if not, please post back. I've been playing a T-Max for almost ten years now and I have an actual Peavey factory-built footswitch. As you guessed, it is DIN-7 with three switches (channel switch, graphic in/out, and effects loop in/out) though mine has three LEDs to indicate my selections.

Regards

Don

_________________
Don Hankinson

T-Max bass head
Pro 500 bass head
Sessionbass bass head
Pro 410 (four ohm) bass cab
Pro 210 bass cabs (x2)
Max bass preamp
Impulse 1012 full-range PA cabs
CS500A power amp
Unity Koa 4 string bass


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T-Max footswitch
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:30 pm 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks for the replies. Can you specify what the channel select does? Just switches between tube and solid state? But no combine?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T-Max footswitch
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:51 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 5:57 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Telecom Corridor
You are correct - tube OR solid state preamp and disabled in the combined mode.

_________________
Don Hankinson

T-Max bass head
Pro 500 bass head
Sessionbass bass head
Pro 410 (four ohm) bass cab
Pro 210 bass cabs (x2)
Max bass preamp
Impulse 1012 full-range PA cabs
CS500A power amp
Unity Koa 4 string bass


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T-Max footswitch
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 7:24 pm 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 5
I thought I'd share the schematics I finally received from Peavey support. I was hoping to find an existing footswitch but I've yet to find one that has 3 buttons and a 7-pin DIN male connector. Nobody uses that type of connector anymore. Peavey wanted $70 or so to build one, which is simply too expensive.

So I plan to construct me own, which should be fairly easy. My current plan is to construct a 2 button footswitch for Channel/EQ and skip the Effect button as I'd personally never use it, and I can make the pedal slightly smaller since it'll only need 2 buttons instead of 3.

The best part is you can use standard MIDI 5 pin DIN cables and connectors if you only want a 2 button footswitch like I do.

Shopping list:

* Small aluminum chassis
* Metal paint
* (2) latching foot switches
* (2) LEDs
* (2) LED bezels
* Female 5 pin MIDI DIN panel-style connector
* Then just connect any standard MIDI cable between the foot switch and amp. 20' MIDI cables are readily available for $10 or less.

If you wanted a full 3 button footswitch you'd simply need another latching switch, another LED assembly, and buy some 7 conductor wire, and a 7 pin DIN male connector which is available on eBay for $4.50 shipped (cheapest place I could find it). http://www.smallbearelec.com/home.html has the rest of the hardware, but not the MIDI nor 7 conductor wire. You could probably use Cat5 cable for the wire assuming the current travelling the wire isn't that great and won't cause it it to get too hot or something.

I'll post my completed project and parts list when it gets completed as I'm sure eventually some other person in the world will encounter the same situation.

I'm getting ready to try some DIY stomp boxes so this will be a perfect first project to cut my teeth on chassis wise.


Attachments:
File comment: Peavey T-Max 3-button Footswitch Schematic
T-Max foot switch.pdf [31.92 KiB]
Downloaded 481 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T-Max footswitch
PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2009 8:45 am 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 5
More info: A genuine Peavey footswitch that works for the Classic-400 or MAX preamp would also work with the T-MAX amp.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T-Max footswitch
PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 12:35 pm 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 1
Having come across this posting whilst looking for info on a T-Max footswitch, I was delighted to find a diagram on this site. Regrettably wiring up a three button switch as per the drawing failed to either change the channel or switch in and out the effects loops. So having obtained an amp schematic from Peavey I worked out what the wiring needed to be. I obtained a footswitch for £18.60 from http://www.dolphinmusic.co.uk/product/4 ... itch-.html apparently this can also be used with a TransTube Special 212, Revolution 112, Special 212 II, Revolution 112 II and XXL.

I rewired it as per attached schematic and it all works a treat.

Some useful tips.

The switching is done on the negative side of the relay. The change-over occurs when you ground the neutral side of the relay.

Wire colors are not important - they are just the ones in the switch that I used.

Pin numbers are not like a clock face ie. 1- 7. but as per the DIN wiring standard.

Ground is No. 2. Pins 1,4 and 6 carry 15v and play no part in switching but can be used to illuminate the LED's in the off position and in any order so the pin out numbers are not crucial..

Pins 7, 3 and 5 by being switched to ground operate the Effects Loop in and out (Pin 7), Graphic in and out (Pin 3) and Channel Change (Pin 5).

I hope that this will prove useful for anyone else looking to solve this problem or indeed other Peavey footswitch related problems
Attachment:
T-MAX Footswitch Wiring Diagram 24 -11-11.pdf [62.27 KiB]
Downloaded 289 times


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T-Max footswitch
PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:15 am 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:44 am
Posts: 3
Hello!
sorry for my english, I'm Italian.
what foot switches should I buy to assemble the pedal? (I can not find online latching foot switches).
thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T-Max footswitch
PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 2:25 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:24 pm
Posts: 6300
Location: Lansing, Michigan
When we say "latching" all we mean is that the switches are "click on and click off" types. Step on it one and it turns on and stays on, step on it again and it turns back off. Just like the switches in a Fender amplifier.

There are two types of push switch, latching and momentary. LAtching switches stay in whatever position you leave them, while momentary switches are only on while you hold them down.


I don't know how your local suppliers name them, but I hope that explanation is clear for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T-Max footswitch
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 3:36 pm 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:44 am
Posts: 3
OK. How many volts going to the LEDs? What resistors can I use? Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T-Max footswitch
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2014 2:31 pm 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:44 am
Posts: 3
http://www.ebay.it/itm/Carling-112P-SPD ... 3ce3bbfdeb
this is ok?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group