It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 6:03 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Old SP2 question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:19 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:12 am
Posts: 130
Location: Monett Mo
I have an SP2ti and a SP2, now the crossover in the ti is bad,and the one in the old SP2 is rated 150 watts. Where can I get a new crossover for the TI? And will the old SP handle more than 150 watts? I know the BW and driver are the same,what is the fail point of the crossover? Is there an upgrade for the old crossover?

_________________
My Band Website
Saving Silence on Facebook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old SP2 question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 6:44 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:39 pm
Posts: 9814
Location: NE Philly
When you say "bad" - what are the symptoms? No highs? No mids? SoundGuard lamp or polyswitch blown? Circuit board caught fire?

Peavey Parts MIGHT have something for the Ti. If not, maybe Peavey techs can repair the Ti crossover for you.

As far as the SP-2 is concerned, one of my elders will have to chime in as I never could keep up with the various SP-2 iterations.

Cheers,
Steve

_________________
SemperFi Sound; the website
SemperFi Sound On FaceBook
"The Art of War teaches us to rely, not upon the calculated likelihood of
the enemy's coming or not, but on our own readiness to receive him... no
matter what he does." Sun Tzu


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old SP2 question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 10:55 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:50 pm
Posts: 3989
The Peavey ECS-1800X (Item #03490200 MSRP U.S. $'s: 139.99) could replace the X-Over in any SP-2.

However as Steve said your bad one can probably be fixed it is it not too burned up.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old SP2 question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:01 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:12 am
Posts: 130
Location: Monett Mo
well someone has taken everything but the resistor and the jacks off the one for the TI, it's junk. I'm actually thinking it might be cheaper and better to just Bi-Amp them and use an active crossover. We do a lot of larger venues and this is a secondary set. Seems one pair is not enough in an outside event,or larger buildings. I thought if there was a fairly cheap replacement I'd go that way.

_________________
My Band Website
Saving Silence on Facebook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old SP2 question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 7:23 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:09 pm
Posts: 554
Location: Maine USA
mo_bluesman wrote:
I have an SP2ti and a SP2, now the crossover in the ti is bad,and the one in the old SP2 is rated 150 watts. Where can I get a new crossover for the TI? And will the old SP handle more than 150 watts? I know the BW and driver are the same,what is the fail point of the crossover? Is there an upgrade for the old crossover?


Would the Non TI be an SP2 or an Sp2"A"?

The very first Sp2s I can remember had a 150 watt woofer and a 20 watt horn driver. I seem to remember a square magnet but its been awhile.
The first set of SP2"A" speakers I owned had a 250 rms black widow woofers and a 40 watt horn driver. They were rated at 150 watts full range. I ran between 300 to 400 watts program into them as Mids in a sub-Mid setup with no problems.

I had a set of the SP2 TI as well. They were rated at 300 watts Full Range with a 350 watt BW woofer and 40 watt horn driver.

The Woofer Driver in the SP2 (A?) and Sp2TI may look the same but there may be a 100 watt power handling difference between them. ( Or more if you have Sp2 first generation )

I see sp2 crossovers on Ebay from time to time.

Doug


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old SP2 question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:15 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:12 am
Posts: 130
Location: Monett Mo
the old one is the bw woofer 22a horn,has the silver stripes along the front. 150 watts. I will eventually reload these,we are pretty brutal on speakers,so the cab is really my main concern. in a perfect world my wallet would be endless and I could just cut a check for what I wanted, but......lol

It says SP2 on it,I have no clue if it is an A or not.I have been searching ebay, we'll see what comes up there. I only gave $50 for the whole speaker,prolly cheaper to keep checking craigslist. :)

_________________
My Band Website
Saving Silence on Facebook


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group