ValveKing II 50w Combo Problem

This forum is for talking about all kinds of Peavey guitar amplifiers.
kilrcuda

ValveKing II 50w Combo Problem

Post by kilrcuda » Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:55 am

Guys/Gals,
Having an issue with my Valveking II 50w combo. The amp is about 2 years old and hasn’t had any mods and had original tubes (Rubys) – I’ve owned it since new. It first started about an hour and a half into a gig. Wasn’t pushing it hard, was running it through a PA using the XLR output on the back. Was jamming along all well and good when I noticed the volume started to gradually decrease to nothing. I looked at the amp and both of the TPI lights were red (should not have been since the amp was not in standby). I then flipped it into standby for a few seconds and then back out of standby. Both lights turned green and I started playing. After about 20 seconds, the volume started decreasing and the TPI lights turned red. Powered the amp off and then back on and the same thing happened again.

When I got it home and powered it on and turned off the standby, only one light turned green. Thought this might be a power tube thing so I powered it down and took out the tubes and swapped their positions in the chassis. Turned it back on and off of standby and the other TPI light didn’t turn green. Thinking that one of the power tubes may have gone bad, I got a set of JJ 6L6 tubes. That seemed to fix the issue. Played through the amp for a couple hours and it was good.

Take it to another gig and the same thing happens as what happened at the first gig when it tanked. Volume gradually dropped and the TPI lights went red. Again, cycled the standby switch and power switch and still came up with no volume and red TPI lights after an hour or so of playing. I take it home and it plays fine for about an hour and then the volume drops slightly and one of the TPI lights come on.