Help with a Triple X 112 Combo

This forum is for talking about all kinds of Peavey guitar amplifiers.
Frankhenrylee

Help with a Triple X 112 Combo

Post by Frankhenrylee » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:10 pm

Hello everyone!

I recently got back into playing guitar and picked up a used Triple XXX. I've been messing with it for a few months now and have finally dialed in a pretty nasty crunch.

I've got two questions about it.

I can't be totally sure about this because it doesn't make sense, but I swear the amp sounds different from one day to the next. My theory is the volume pot may be the problem because it's the only thing that changes, but there's no typical scratchy pot noise. Any thing that would cause this? The difference in tone is in the gain, but turning gain up doesn't get my tight crunch back. Just seems a little more like a Regular gain amp sound.

My other problem is the built in effects loop. It's noisy whether it's on or not and seems to color the tone even when it's turned off. More like I cant turn it completely off. Always seems to be on like on a setting of 1 or 2, but the noise is significant. The quality of the effects is not good, but I wouldn't expect a lot out of built in effects. Just not sure what to do about them. I'd kind of like to disable them, but not sure if that's possible without having some other problem.

Any help you guys can give is greatly appreciated!!!!

Enzo

Re: Help with a Triple X 112 Combo

Post by Enzo » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:21 pm

Your ears change day to day, the humidity and air pressure vary day to day. Need to be more specific.

Are we talking the XXX40 EFX?

KTB

Post by KTB » Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:23 am

Enzo wrote:
Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:21 pm
Your ears change day to day, the humidity and air pressure vary day to day. Need to be more specific.

Fletcher Munson curves !

KTB

Post by KTB » Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:27 am

It is possible to have a tech go in and bypass the effects so it is dry in and out.

Frankhenrylee