1.3K burning speakers

This forum is for talking about all kinds of Peavey power amplifiers.
jd907

1.3K burning speakers

Post by jd907 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:43 am

Hello,

This 1.3K literally burned a speaker. The B output is the culprit, the A output hardly puts out any power but it is at least a clean sine wave.
I am fairly new at amp repair - my strong suite is guitar tube and solid state amps, so I feel out on a limb here. What I need help with is a good place to start looking, and some advice from an experienced tech - how much time could this suck up? I would imagine pulling transistors and heat sinks could be really time consuming and I want to give my customer a realistic expectation on the cost of the repairs. Without having gone through an amp like this I am guessing it could be around 2-4 hours, at which point they might be more inclined to buy a newer amp. The other thing I am having trouble with is finding a schematic that has test points on it, do they exist for this model? I have found some, but they do not have any test points.

Thanks in advance,
Jeff

Enzo

Re: 1.3K burning speakers

Post by Enzo » Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:39 am

You can get any Peavey schematic by contacting customer service at the factory and asking for it.

There are not many "test points" in the schematics, a technician should have a good idea already of voltages to find.

Always check for DC voltage on the output connectors. That is likely what burnt up a speaker. NEVER connect a speaker or load to a solid state amp that is making DC on its output. Not until the amp is made stable and the DC is gone.

This solid state power amp is like most any other power amp, just bigger. Your 80 watt Bandit amp shares an overall similarity to this.

Power off, measure resistance across each channel output posts. Is eaither side shorted? Often when channels fail, the "crowbar" triac across the output shorts.