Old CS-800 outputing hardly any volume??

This forum is for talking about all kinds of Peavey power amplifiers.
Cannibaliam

Old CS-800 outputing hardly any volume??

Post by Cannibaliam » Sun May 14, 2017 10:48 am

I recently had a friend sell me an old Peavey CS800.
Im just starting out and dont know much about electronics. I want to learn!! Im a Protools guy but im getting into the world of PA's. Anyways Ive got two 2x10 floor wedges with horns that my friend used with the cs800 for years each speaker has two 1/4 inputs. When I go to use the Amp I put it on bridge mode, and hook the speakers up to the black and red turn nobs on the amp and 1/4 inch into one of the two plugs on the speakers, I find only one works??. Why there are two plugs on speakers im not sure. Anyways its my understanding that you wire a speaker into channel A and one into Channel B and then on bridge mode input into channel A and both should work at 400w 4ohm load. However I get an extremely quite response from the system deffinitly nit load enough to hear over any amplified instruments, DDT light doesnt come on power light does come on fan spins everything apears to work, but I can turn the volume all the way up and can hardly hear anything from my speakers...im at my witts end? Are the speakers the wrong ohms? Could this be the problem? How do I test this? The speakers I beleive are custom made so I dont know specs on them they have a K on the fromt mesh, but I do know they were used with this cs800 before for years. Can someone help me with diagnosing the problem? I have a multimeter but unsure how to procede. If im assuming correctly I should be able to blow my face off with this thing and at least get loud enough to play with a live drum set??