VIP2 - Increase power?

A forum for discussing the Vypyr series amplifiers, Sanpera footswitches and share settings
godoy.rafa
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:55 pm

VIP2 - Increase power?

Postby godoy.rafa » Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:52 am

Is there a way to increase power by replacing any component?

User avatar
wmjones
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 1:39 pm

Re: VIP2 - Increase power?

Postby wmjones » Thu Jul 13, 2017 10:54 am

godoy.rafa wrote:Is there a way to increase power by replacing any component?
I would replace it with a VIP3. The VIP3 has a power sponge that allows you to change your power from 1 to 100 percent (watts). The cost of replacing components in a VIP2 could almost pay for a VIP3.
8) HAPPY DAYS:

godoy.rafa
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:55 pm

Re: VIP2 - Increase power?

Postby godoy.rafa » Thu Jul 13, 2017 12:32 pm

Not here in Brazil... VIP2 costed me USD 480.00, and VIP3 costs USD 1160.00... So, I think increasing power might be cheaper!

vypyrtrails
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:15 am

Re: VIP2 - Increase power?

Postby vypyrtrails » Thu Jul 13, 2017 1:29 pm

I own a VIP 2.

Something I have considered I would do, is get a line out installed on the back of the amp with a volume pot.
It would cost me $75.00 parts and labor, I live in the USA.

Then feed that line out to an effects return of another amp. For me, that would be a Peavey XXL heads return and then
a 4x12 cab! Yet you still have a little combo when that is all you need.

Its an idea.... :wink:

godoy.rafa
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:55 pm

Re: VIP2 - Increase power?

Postby godoy.rafa » Thu Jul 13, 2017 1:54 pm

This line out mod you said, would it have the same effect as converting my VIP2 to head + cab, and plug the head into the return of another amp?
Or, I would have to do the line out mod in the VIP2 head as well?

vypyrtrails
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:15 am

Re: VIP2 - Increase power?

Postby vypyrtrails » Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:52 pm

godoy.rafa wrote:This line out mod you said, would it have the same effect as converting my VIP2 to head + cab, and plug the head into the return of another amp?
Or, I would have to do the line out mod in the VIP2 head as well?


No you would not be converting you VIP2 to a head and cab. The VIP2 remains the same. We are just tapping the signal to send to another amp.

The line out mod with a volume pot would still keep the VIP 2 a combo amp. The line out would be a tap off the
signal after the preamp and before the speaker. Most amps have this already for recording purposes, or to send the signal
to a PA, and or another amp.

The VIP2 would still be used as normal, however, the line out signal would be sent to the effects loop return of another amp head and cab, or a combo amp. So you would have to amps going, the VIP2 and another amp head / cab or combo amp.

This would be a good solution if you have another amp that has more power and an effects loop. By going into the effects loop return, we bypass
the front of the second amps preamp/controls and just use the power section of the second amp.

godoy.rafa
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:55 pm

Re: VIP2 - Increase power?

Postby godoy.rafa » Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:08 pm

Cool. I think the best solution is to do it all - Convert to head + cab, add speaker out and line out, add send/return (if possible). Full flexibility!

vypyrtrails
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:15 am

Re: VIP2 - Increase power?

Postby vypyrtrails » Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:25 pm

godoy.rafa wrote:Cool. I think the best solution is to do it all - Convert to head + cab, add speaker out and line out, add send/return (if possible). Full flexibility!



Converting the VIP2 to a head and cab will not give you more power. You will still have the same power as it was originally.

That is why the line out...to send to another amp with power.

I had the Boss Katana (which I took back and got the VIP2) and ran the line out to another head and cab. Worked Amazingly.

What I lost in features with the VIP2, I gained in tone.

godoy.rafa
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:55 pm

Re: VIP2 - Increase power?

Postby godoy.rafa » Fri Jul 14, 2017 7:57 am

vypyrtrails wrote:Converting the VIP2 to a head and cab will not give you more power.


Yes, I know. But it is easier to carry a head (to use Line Out to another amp at a rehersal studio, for example) than a combo...

godoy.rafa
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:55 pm

Re: VIP2 - Increase power?

Postby godoy.rafa » Fri Jul 14, 2017 7:58 am

vypyrtrails wrote:I had the Boss Katana (which I took back and got the VIP2) and ran the line out to another head and cab. Worked Amazingly.

What I lost in features with the VIP2, I gained in tone.


Good to hear that! I was thinking about the Katana, but it seems that Vypyr sounds better.

vypyrtrails
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:15 am

Re: VIP2 - Increase power?

Postby vypyrtrails » Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:49 am

godoy.rafa wrote:
vypyrtrails wrote:I had the Boss Katana (which I took back and got the VIP2) and ran the line out to another head and cab. Worked Amazingly.

What I lost in features with the VIP2, I gained in tone.


Good to hear that! I was thinking about the Katana, but it seems that Vypyr sounds better.


Yea it was a very agonizing decision to make, returning the Katana for the VIP2. The VIP2 just kills with its tones and yet the Katana
has all the effects, line out, effects loop, phones/rec out etc....

User avatar
j_fury68
Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:30 pm

Re: VIP2 - Increase power?

Postby j_fury68 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:08 am

vypyrtrails wrote:
godoy.rafa wrote:
vypyrtrails wrote:I had the Boss Katana (which I took back and got the VIP2) and ran the line out to another head and cab. Worked Amazingly.

What I lost in features with the VIP2, I gained in tone.


Good to hear that! I was thinking about the Katana, but it seems that Vypyr sounds better.


Yea it was a very agonizing decision to make, returning the Katana for the VIP2. The VIP2 just kills with its tones and yet the Katana
has all the effects, line out, effects loop, phones/rec out etc....

Imagine a VIP with an effects loop! Shhh! It can be done.
:arrow: Peavey HP Special FT in Blue Moon Burst, Vypyr 30 with Effects Loop, Zoom G5, Vypyr Pro 100.

vypyrtrails
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:15 am

Re: VIP2 - Increase power?

Postby vypyrtrails » Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:15 pm

j_fury68 wrote:
vypyrtrails wrote:
godoy.rafa wrote:

Imagine a VIP with an effects loop! Shhh! It can be done.



Ok, I'll ask.. Have you done this to a VIP?? Is this something I could do myself? Parts I'm guessing under 20.00....

User avatar
j_fury68
Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:30 pm

Re: VIP2 - Increase power?

Postby j_fury68 » Mon Jul 17, 2017 3:31 pm

vypyrtrails wrote:
j_fury68 wrote:
vypyrtrails wrote:



Ok, I'll ask.. Have you done this to a VIP?? Is this something I could do myself? Parts I'm guessing under 20.00....

I have done one for a forum member a couple of years ago. Well under 20 bucks to do it yourself. It is pretty much the same as modding the 1st Gen vypyr.
:arrow: Peavey HP Special FT in Blue Moon Burst, Vypyr 30 with Effects Loop, Zoom G5, Vypyr Pro 100.

User avatar
wmjones
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 1:39 pm

Re: VIP2 - Increase power?

Postby wmjones » Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:32 pm

vypyrtrails wrote:
j_fury68 wrote:
vypyrtrails wrote:



Ok, I'll ask.. Have you done this to a VIP?? Is this something I could do myself? Parts I'm guessing under 20.00....
Search for post with this title " Vypyr and VIP with effects loop mod " You may find the info you need for this mod. This goes back about 2 or 3 years.
8) HAPPY DAYS:


Return to “Vypyr & Sanpera”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests