Vypyr Tube 60. Can I get this thing to sound good?

A forum for discussing the Vypyr series amplifiers, Sanpera footswitches and share settings
MrKooz

Vypyr Tube 60. Can I get this thing to sound good?

Post by MrKooz » Fri Jul 28, 2017 9:15 pm

Hey everybody! I'm a bedroom guitarist who purchased a used Vypyr Tube 60 almost 2 years ago. I got it for a steal because it had some weird sound issue and the seller had no motivation whatsoever to take it in to a shop and pay them. So I took a chance, low-balled him, bought it, and immediately took it to my local guitar shop, whom I trust. They determined it needed new tubes. So they replaced all of them, which didn't cost too much.

Though I tried plenty, and even read several posts on this site back then, I never got the amp to sound even close to any kind of old school rock/metal tone that I like (think Metallica, Slayer, Anthrax, Testament, Crue, Van Halen, etc.). Disappointing to say the least, as people seem to regard this amp as a great tool for that sort of thing.

So here I am, almost 2 years later and admittedly this amp has literally been sitting there collecting dust because I never use it. I've been playing my Fender Mustang solid state amp instead. Granted, I like the clean sounds I'm able to get out of the Tube 60, but does anyone have any suggestions for rock/metal settings? Anything I try just ends up sounding noisy and feedbacky. :|

j_fury68

Re: Vypyr Tube 60. Can I get this thing to sound good?

Post by j_fury68 » Sat Jul 29, 2017 2:45 am