6505MH review and complains!!!

This forum is for talking about all kinds of Peavey guitar amplifiers.
pgmlml

6505MH review and complains!!!

Post by pgmlml » Fri Sep 18, 2015 6:05 pm

Hello Guys! My name is Pedro and I'm from Portugal.
I'm new to Peavey, but not new to tube amps.

This summer I acquired a 6505MH. Before I start my mini review, let me say this: I'm PISSED with Peavey! This amps says in the front panel "All tube guitar amplifier" but the thing is, this amp uses OP AMPS and TRANSISTORS in the signal flow, and it afects the overall tone!

One of the main reasons why I bought this amp, was to be able to crank it! Lets be honest, you can crank it up, but doesn't sound good. And the explanation is simple, instead of a 12ax7 Phase Inverter, there's a a NPN transistor! Some of you might not know, but getting distortion in the phase inverter is a great part of what we call "power amp tube distortion" !!!

some good and bad considerations about the amp (kind of a topic review):

- the clean channel sounds great when distorted. In clean or crunch mode, with an overdrive pedal you can get a killer distortion ( better sounding than the lead channel, at least for me).
- the clean tones are far from beeing good... I barely can get a clean sound with my guitar, because the input stars to clip very early. The bright switch is good for the crunch mode, but doesn't give that sparkling clean that you can get on other amps.
- the drive channel is very tight, which is a good thing! You can get some extra bottom end when you reach 6 on the drive knob.
- the EQ section is nice to play with. I like to cut treble and bring the presence up a bit. It makes it sound more natural, and closer to my Orange OR50!
- the attenuator can be usefull, when playing at bedroom levels, but it filters the sound too much. I have too compensate it with more presence...