Still loving my Windsor half stack

This forum is for talking about all kinds of Peavey guitar amplifiers.
cliffenstein

Still loving my Windsor half stack

Post by cliffenstein » Sat Apr 09, 2016 6:49 pm

I still can not believe the hate these amps get in some quarters on the net.

My first amp was a Marshall Valvestate. From there I graduated to a first year 5150 head played through a Mesa cab. After a decade or so with that amp, I sold it and got a 1979 Marshall JMP 50 watt head and a 1981 Marshall 100 watt cab loaded with Celestion blackbacks. I was in tone heaven.

Less than a year later the head was stolen...what a freaking tragedy. I couldn't afford to get another used JMP, so after talking it over with an amp guy I trust, I picked up a used VTM60 head. That was a very good fit for me. It was ugly but I really liked the tone it delivered. The band wound down about a year later and then my wife and I decided to start our family. Thinking I was permanently out of the rock game, I sold off all my gear. Flash forward a few years, our two boys are in school and I start finding myself getting that rock n roll itch again. I called up the guys and they were up to getting things up and rolling again.

I needed an amp. I did some research and read about the Windsor half stacks, but Peavey had stopped making them due to lack of sales. Seems the kids today aren't much interested in the sounds of yesterday. I looked on Craig's List and found someone in my general area who was looking to offload one. I grabbed my guitar and went to go check it out. Within a minute of testing it out, I closed the deal. $300 for a half stack that sounds like this? How could I say no to that?!!!!